Faculty and Staff

Get to know the individuals in the Equity, Leadership Studies, and Instructional Technologies (ELSIT).

Professors

Dr. Brian Beatty

Brian Beatty

Associate Professor

bjbeatty@sfsu.edu

Dr. Brian Beatty is associate professor of Instructional Technologies in the Department of Equity, Leadership Studies and Instructional Technologies at San Francisco State University. Brian’s primary areas of interest and research include social interaction in online learning, flipped classroom implementation, and developing instructional design theory for Hybrid-Flexible learning environments. At SFSU, Dr. Beatty pioneered the development and evaluation of the HyFlex course design model for blended learning environments, implementing a “student-directed-hybrid” approach to better support student learning.

Bio Placeholder 250x250

Deborah Curtis

Professor

curtis@sfsu.edu

Deborah Curtis is a professor in the Department of Equity, Leadership Studies, and Instructional Technologies.  She has a Ph.D. in educational psychology from University of California Berkeley, where she studied quantitative methods in education.  Dr. Curtis has taught undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral-level courses at SFSU in educational data analysis and educational research methods.  She is the co-coordinator of the Master of Arts Degree in Education with a Special Interest Concentration, where she advises M.A. students who have a broad range of educational research interests. She is also the coordinator of the undergraduate quantitative reasoning courses in the ELSIT Department.  Dr. Curtis’ interests include statistics education, educational data analysis, and program evaluation.

Doris Flowers - Professor of ELSIT

Doris Flowers

Department Chair

dflowers@sfsu.edu

Dr. Doris Flowers is a professor in the College of Education at San Francisco State University where she serves as the co-coordinator of the Center for Adult Education as well as the Equity and Social Justice Program. Dr. Flowers teaches courses in Equity and Social Justice and Adult Education. Originally from Washington, DC, Dr. Flowers has served as faculty and research associate in the Communications Department at Purdue University and has taught at the University of Virginia, Howard University and the University of the District of Columbia.

Helen Hyun

Helen Hyun

Professor

hhh@sfsu.edu

Dr. Helen Hyun is professor of Interdisciplinary Studies in Education. She received her master’s degree and doctorate in education policy from Harvard University. She has taught classes at the undergraduate, master’s and doctoral level at SF State and also at UC Berkeley where she was a visiting professor in the Joint Doctoral Program from 2005-10. Dr. Hyun’s teaching and research interests include higher education policy, mixed methods research, and equity issues in education. Dr. Hyun is co-author of one of the leading research methods textbooks in the country now in its 10th edition.

Prof. Hyun was raised in San Francisco and now resides in the East Bay with her husband and two children.

Bio Placeholder 250x250

Ming-Yeh Lee

Professor

mylee@sfsu.edu

Dr. Lee’s teaching and research interests include adult learning theories, immigrant adult learners, impact of interlocking power system on educational contexts, and transformative learning in the cross-cultural setting. She currently teaches, advises, and co-coordinates Adult Education and Equity and Social Justice MA programs. Dr. Lee is the recipient of an outstanding teaching award in 1996 and a national research award in 1999. She has presented at international conferences and published in areas of adult immigrant students, adult learning, and equity & social justice in education. She has also served her professional community by playing a leadership role in hosting international research conferences in 2003 and serving on the editorial board for Adult Education Quarterly, Adult Learning and Horizon, three major publications in Adult Education. She served as university liaison for a community-based literacy program, long-term consultant for a Chinese American non-profit organization and has been involved in college-wide international initiatives.

Dr. Zahira Merchant - 250px

Zahira Merchant

Associate Professor

zahiram@sfsu.edu

Zahira Merchant is an associate professor of Instructional Technologies Program at San Francisco State University (SFSU). She received her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology (Emphasis in Education Technology) and MS in Educational Human Resource Development from Texas A&M University. Dr. Merchant has served as the PI, Co-PI, Senior Personnel on several federally and non-profit funded grant projects from agencies such as National Science Foundation (NSF), California Teaching Commission (CTC), and IDEA.

Irina Bio - 250px

Irina Okhremtchouk

Associate Professor

irinao@sfsu.edu

Dr. Irina S. Okhremtchouk is an assistant professor of Educational Administration in Equity, Leadership Studies, and Instructional Technologies (ELSIT) Department at SFSU’s Graduate College of Education. Her expertise is in the area of school organization and policy, and school finance with a focus on language different/emergent bilingual students and marginalized populations. Dr. Okhremtchouk directs research projects and oversees the ReRighting Education team.

Bio Placeholder 250x250

Stanley Pogrow

Professor

spogrow@sfsu.edu

Dr. Stanley Pogrow has a Ph.D. in Educational Administration from Stanford University, and is currently a research  professor of Educational Leadership at San Francisco State University.  He was a coordinator of the joint doctoral program in Educational Leadership for Equity, in conjunction with the University of California at Berkeley.  Previous positions were at: University of Illinois, USC, and the University of Arizona.  UCEA listed him as one of the top scholars in the field of Educational Leadership.

Lecturer Faculty

ELSIT Lecturer Faculty
Lecturer Faculty email
Enrique Avalos eavalos2@sfsu.edu
Amy Baer abaer@sfsu.edu
Lisa Bates lbates@mail.sfsu.edu
Andrew Beyer abeyer@sfsu.edu
Paulette Callahan callahan@sfsu.edu
Marlon Gayle mgayle@sfsu.edu
Tachelle Herron-Lane tachelle@100collegeprep.org
Marta Induni minduni@sfsu.edu
Kevin Kelly kkelly@sfsu.edu
Ethan Kuniyoshi ekuni@mail.sfsu.edu
Vincent Matthews vincentm@mail.sfsu.edu
Valerie Pitts vpitts@sfsu.edu
Susan Pound spound@mail.sfsu.edu
Veronica Roberts vroberts1@sfsu.edu
 Van Tran vtran3@sfsu.edu 
Christine Trowbridge christro@sfsu.edu
Laura Savage lsavage@sfsu.edu
Anna Lisa Van der Valk alsv@sfsu.edu

Staff

Bio Placeholder 250x250

Schelstrate, Anarose

Academic Office Coordinator

aschels@sfsu.edu